Free To Air Australian Channels

Australians who are unable to receive digital tv services will be able to access the full range of digital TV programming via the new digital TV satellite service.

This service consists of 16 digital tv channels, as well as local news service. The Central and Eastern VAST (Viewer Access Satellite Television) service provides its commercial standard definition channels in two time zones to cater to the northern and southern Australian States.

What channels are available?

The VAST service features channels carrying programs sourced from Southern Cross Seven, Imparja Nine and Network Ten. It also includes the main national broadcaster services, ABC1 and SBS ONE, together with standard definition (SD) digital channels ABC2, ABC3, SBS TWO, 7TWO, GO!, Eleven, as well as the high definition (HD) channels ABC News 24, SBS HD, 7mate, GEM, and ONE.

All programming is scheduled on NSW time zone, except for the Queensland and Northern Territory SD channels, which are scheduled on the Queensland summer time zone.

The national broadcasters news services, the ABC and SBS, are also provided. ABC news is also available through ABC1 on a State by State basis.

The VAST service also provides viewers with access to local regional news services, which are currently broadcast by the commercial broadcasters in their terrestrial licence areas. The regional news services are provided through dedicated news channels.

What advertising is broadcast on the VAST service?

The advertising currently broadcast on the VAST service is embedded in the source programming. Imparja and Southern Cross provide commercial television services within the Remote Central and Eastern Australia licence area. Imparja sources its programming from the Nine Network and inserts its own advertising (primarily from the Northern Territory).

Similarly, Seven Central (7 Central) Television obtains its programming from the Seven Network and inserts its own advertising (primarily from regional Queensland). Imparja and Seven Central jointly operate a third commercial service with content from the TEN Network, and with advertising from either Brisbane or Melbourne.